September 2, 2011

The Quiet Reformation: Christians Leaving the IC

Posted in False Beliefs about Attending Church, False Beliefs about Church Leavers, IC Doctrine and Practices, Videos tagged , at 6:17 am by Set Free Indeed


To the Shepherds, and the Scattered Sheep of Israel I hope these scriptures serve as a warning, or comfort as it applies.

With so many Christians fleeing from apostasy in today’s American church, where do you point the multitudes to? How can we counsel these ones who have been hurt and burned by a false church? How can we as Christians whether we belong to the Institutional Church or not, show them love and compassion?

This video will cover those questions as best I can and much more, how Christians are leaving IC’s and going into aberrant teachings and cult groups who are leading them farther away from Christ and godliness.

11 Comments »

  1. In Revelations 18:4,… and I heard another voice out of heaven saying’come forth out of her My people, that you may not partake with her sins, and that you may not receive of her plagues…is fitting for today for the sins of the ic have gone up to heaven.
    They declare themselves Gods represntative on earth yet hated bigotry greed, politics, lust of the flesh and the desire of the eye consume the ic like a plague.
    Its is good that so many are hearing Heavenly Fathers call and seeking Him for themselve. Do not be afraid for He knows who you are and where and as you call He will fulfill your needs(not wants always) but your needs.
    Study the scriptures about howElijah in fear hiding in caves and God revealing the many of his servants that the servant of God could not physically see but we are here and you are not alone.
    amen, amen and amen God Bless

  2. dividingword said,

    This is a very good video. I shared it on my FB page. Here is my testimony of leaving the IC.

    http://dividingword.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/leaving-the-institutional-church/

    God bless!

  3. Sandra said,

    This is a very good video. I shared it on my FB page. Here is my testimony of leaving the IC

    http://dividingword.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/leaving-the-institutional-church/

    God bless!

  4. FG said,

    My family left the IC about 6 months ago and now we are having church at home. We are growing more now then ever before, but still have a desire to be with believers. We are willing to put our very lives in the hands of God and let Him lead us according to His will, not man.

  5. Ibukun said,

    I haven’t viewed your video yet, but it’s no surprise many are ‘abandoning’ the church as it stands today because many churches have ‘abandoned’ Christ as the focus. Most people who go to church are going to seek Christ, and they get to church and hear ‘prosperity’ that they might never experience in a lifetime, they hear ‘give’ when all they see their leaders do is ‘receive’.

    My heart bleeds for Christianity as it is being displayed today, and I often remind people that it’s time to ‘work out your own salvation with fear and trembling’, regardless of what you hear in church.

    Where are the ‘men of God’ willing to go to places like Iraq, Libya, Iran and other warzones, to spread the true Word of God, i.e. salvation, hope and love, rather than prosperity, prosperity and yet more prosperity?

  6. The falling away is not the people leaving the Christian church. It is much deeper than that.

    Jeremiah 17:4 And thou, even thyself, shalt discontinue from thine heritage that I gave thee; and I will cause thee to serve thine enemies in the land which thou knowest not: for ye have kindled a fire in mine anger, [which] shall burn for ever.

    The Most High shall give wisdom to those who seek it.

    Thank you for your video series on the Greek life style.

    http://www.yahspeople.com/boule.html

    http://www.yahspeople.com/freemasons.html

    When you have the time please view these sites.

  7. Thank you sooooo much for posting this teaching video. This is one of the best ones that I have seen or listened to on Youtube concerning this topic. I will be listening to this more than once. This was and is a great source of encouragement to me. Please keep me in your prayers 🙂

  8. Pray For Me...Please! said,

    I’m one who fled the church, 2009 to be exact, and it has been hard. (I won’t go into the details of what happened) But I feel so alone, and unsure about everything!! Your video allowed me to know that there is hope and I didn’t abandon God….I abandoned the ‘IC’ Please pray for me and my family. Thank you again. God Bless.

  9. mike said,

    Good point

    So many leave the IC and go to so many heretical teachers

    They teach sinfulness and universalism and annihilism and many other unbiblical theosophies

    Its so hard to find true biblical felllowship any more these days

    Few there are that go that way

  10. doug said,

    Centered on Christ awesome. there is always the chance of going to one extreme or another when hurt or trying to find your way. in Hebrews 11 the bible speaks of ‘they wandered’….in faith but wandering this is where many find themselves today. despite popular opinion it’s a great place to be becoz your in faith and thus pleasing Father.

    i cant help but smile at your acknowledgement of needing to be or remain Christ-centered in ur views. dont we all?…i know i do. healthy things grow and growing things change.

    Gotta disagree with Dave’s assessment of 1 john 2:27. Everything needs to be established by two or three witnesses. not good to take one verse and frame a belief system. the five fold ministry was given to us as a gift…a tool to perfect Christ’s body/bride. it’s very much needed and a must for the body to mature. 1 john 2:27 is saying in my opinion that since you have the Spirit of Christ as your spirit and the Holy Spirit to help and assist you in walking as Christ walk/lived. and Jesus promised that the HS would lead and guide you into all truth and show you things to come. that when you hear a minister/preacher/teacher your relationship with the HS can be and should be to the point that what you hear confirms what you’ve already be told or shown thru your relationship with the HS. blessings to you dave.

    just have to stumble across couple days ago ‘Set Free’. Stay on the wall.

    also, i dont think u against the local church. never crossed my mind. but i do understand the mafia, gang, mob mindset that comes against you when you shed light on dark areas of things ppl love. can b vicious i’m sure.

    peace and blessings

  11. Dave Gilbert said,

    Very true. God speaks to His people today, as much as He spoke to them through the Spirit 1000 years ago and more.

    Christ said ” My people hear my voice, and they follow me”. Those that are leaving and going into aberrant teachings very well could be (and probably are ) unbelievers and not indwelt with the Spirit.

    For those that ARE children of God, I firmly believe the anger and bitterness WILL fade over time, provided we direct our attentions to Christ and His Word. This is first and foremost the best “counseling” we can get.

    I also believe God will direct those believers that have left the “system” to others in the faith and will NOT leave them comfortless and guideless.

    I agree with your assessment of “Calvinism” and any other “isms” out there. I was once someone who very nearly bought into Calvinism because of the tremendous truths IN that system of theology, but God has shown me that ALL of His Word is true, so I gladly accept it, even if I can’t reconcile what, to my understanding, look like contradictions.

    If God says it, I believe it.

    As for your statements about needing a preacher, I find that reading the rest of the chapter (Romans 10) leads me to things I often skipped over…such as the fact that not everyone obeys the gospel that has been preached. Verse 15 is easy to stop at, but I encourage everyone to keep reading beyond that point. God has much to say ..;)

    Yes God uses preachers…do God’s people NEED preachers and teachers to guide them? Not if you take to heart 1 John 2:27: ” But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth IN YOU, and ye need NOT that any man should teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of ALL THINGS, and IS TRUTH, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, YE SHALL ABIDE IN HIM.” (emphasis mine).

    This “anointing” is the anointing of the Holy Spirit, which ALL genuine believers have from the day of their repentance and conversion.

    To those that are coming out, I firmly stress the importance of separation from the world’s ways and continuous study of God’s Word.

    I also encourage you that the Lord will never leave or forsake us, that He will not leave us comfortless. Abide in Him, and everything else will be taken care of.

    Dave.


Leave a Reply

